Bring on the basics

Since getting serious about sewing late last year, I’ve been making t-shirts and tank tops to fill some wardrobe gaps and replace worn out ready to wear (RTW) items in my closet.  I’m inspired by Karen Templer, of Fringe Association, and her approach to making; I want to make items that I’ll actually wear, that fit my lifestyle and aesthetic, and I want to make items thoughtfully. When Karen introduced the Summer of Basics it was the perfect opportunity to asses what else I needed and how I could push myself to try new garments.

Pants
I plan to make Lotta Jansdotter‘s Owyn Pants from Everyday Style in black linen.

Dress
Fen Dress by Fancy Tiger Crafts, probably in Chambray.

Top
Undecided at the moment but woven and with short sleeves. My mom gave me a stack of fabric from her stash that provide some possibilities. There’s some cream silk noil that I want to dye indigo and a creamy linen. I’ll see how the dying goes before I make a firm decision on the top.

First up: Owyn!

 

Leave a Reply

