Getting Started With the Summer of Basics

It’s serendipitous that we’re starting this blog in time for the Summer of Basics Make-Along!

I have a lengthy list of patterns I love, and intend to one day make and write about, but since the purpose of this challenge is supplement our wardrobes with basics (or items that are basic for us), I’ve decided to make the following clothes:
  • Minttu Swing Top. This top looks so fun! I live in tank tops during the summer, and layered under cardigans when it’s cooler. I’m going to pick a patterned material because I’m more of a “plain fabric” girl, and a smaller, patterned piece is perfect for dipping my toe into something new.
  • Hollyburn skirt. This skirt is adorable and I love the different options. I’m likely going with View B, in a plain material, because let’s not get crazy with patterns right away.
  • Farrow dress. I’ve had this pattern for months, and while I would have made it without a make-along, this is the perfect push to do it. Maybe even in a patterned material! I’m going to make View A, and save the sleeves for a winter/fall dress. And it has pockets, which is one of my favourite details with dresses.
First up: Minttu!
Leave a Reply

