Distractions

As a newish sewist, I’ve learned that I adore planning projects, researching and ranking patterns to sew, and shopping and stockpiling fabric – really, I have an almost overwhelming amount of fabric right now. And luckily, I also love sewing my favourite patterns, exchanging ideas, and talking about what I’m doing, especially with Ange.

But when it comes to starting a project that is just outside my comfort zone, I pause. And during that pause, I become distracted. Suddenly, I remember that this is the week I was planning on organizing my pantry. Something comes up at work. Then I notice that I never did finish weeding in the backyard, and I should get started on that, but first, I need a new garden hose. Oh, there’s another hornet’s nest. That’s not a fun job at all, so maybe I can take care of it later. I mean, do we really need to get rid of a new hornet’s nest right this minute? (Actually, yeah we do, because that’s one thing you don’t want to forget.) And so it goes.

Finally, I focus, decide to start my Minttu top, and assemble the pattern, but look who I find? It’s hard to fault him, given that the papers are temptingly on the floor.

IMG_20170611_220058

Taking the next step can be hard. For the most part, I’m already happy with my current skills (although I would like to be better with said skills), and that happiness is the main reason why I never seem to move past a certain level in anything I do, and I stay a dilettante. There’s nothing intimidating in my new pattern. Sure, I’ll be using interfacing for the first time, but that’s going to be a Very Good Thing to learn. I can find lots of helpful tutorials. And I really do want to go beyond and build my skills, techniques, and wardrobe.

So this week will be better. Unless I find another hornet’s nest.

Leave a Reply

